News on Sunday

Air Mauritius Award – 2017 : Dr Maurice Curé State College wins the Grand Finale

Dr Maurice Curé State College, represented by Annaëlle Li Pin Liung, Marie Laëtitia Desales and Sharmeen Salehmohamed, has won the Grand Finale of the Air Mauritius Award on Thursday 13 July 2017. The competition was recorded in the studios of the MBC and aired on the same evening on Channel 3. Four finalists participated in the finale, which also included Loreto College Quatre Bornes that took the 2nd place, GMD Atchia State College the 3rd place and Ebène SSS Girls the 4th place.


The Air Mauritius Award was launched as part of the initiatives to mark the 50th Anniversary of Air Mauritius and the 50th Anniversary of the independence of Mauritius. The theme chosen for the competition was ‘Air Mauritius - Contributing to the Nation for 50 years and beyond”. It was specifically chosen to create awareness among students about the importance of the National Airline for an independent Mauritius and to highlight the 50-year robust partnership between Air Mauritius and the Nation. The competition, which was open to Grade 12 (former Lower VI) of all registered secondary schools in Mauritius, provided an opportunity for students to develop their business acumen and soft skills.

On 23 June 2017, Air Mauritius received 47 entries from secondary schools across Mauritius. Four teams were shortlisted to participate in the Grand Finale: Dr Maurice Curé State College, Ebene SSS (Girls), GMD Atchia State College and Loreto College Quatre Bornes. The panel of jury for the Grand Finale was chaired by Mr Vijay Seetul (EVP – Finance and Company Secretary of Air Mauritius) and also comprised Mr Lindsay Rivière (Chairman of Media Trust) and Mr Azim Currimjee (President of the Mauritius Chamber of Commerce and Industry).

Donald E Payen, Executive Vice President - Customer Experience Ground and Inflight Services, who also chairs the organising committee for the celebration of the 50 years of Air Mauritius stated: “We thank all 47 teams for their enthusiasm and their excellent submissions. We also recognise the efforts of all 141 team Members along with their educators. We will soon meet all participants to express our appreciation. We hope the Air Mauritius Award provided students with an enriching experience, promoted teamwork, innovation and an entrepreneurial mindset in line with the objectives we had set.”

The Prizes:

First Prize - Visit to Toulouse (France) including the Airbus A350 XWB Final Assembly Line.
Second Prize - Visit to Johannesburg (South Africa) incl. a flight simulator demonstration.
Third Prize - Visit to Rodrigues.
Fourth Prize - A helicopter sightseeing tour.

The teams that participated in the Grand Finale of the Air Mauritius Award – 2017:

Winner - Dr Maurice Cure State College
Marie Laëtitia DESALES, Annaëlle Li PIN HIUNG and Sharmeen Banu JAVID SALEHMOHAMED
Educator: Mr A. DHAWOTAL

Second – Loreto College Quatre Bornes
Angelica SEENEEVASSEN, Severine LABONTE and Zaarah MUNGROO
Educator: Mrs S. SEEGOBIN

GMD Atchia State College
Siddiqah AUCKBARALLEE, Valérie ESTHER and Hanna OOBAYE
Educator: Mrs S. BHONSLAY (Educator)

Ebene SSS Girls
Ashwini SEENAUTH, Shivma PURAVEG and Poojaluxmi AHOTAR
Educator: Mrs N. JAHADJEE (Educator)


Notre service WhatsApp. Vous êtes témoins d`un événement d`actualité ou d`une scène insolite? Envoyez-nous vos photos ou vidéos sur le 5 259 82 00 !